During a bowl delivery, if the bowler steps on or over the mat line, what is the ruling?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a bowler steps on or over the mat line during their delivery, the delivery is considered null and void. This is because stepping beyond the mat line is a breach of the rules governing the delivery process in bowls. The integrity of the delivery is compromised, as the bowler must establish a specific starting position to ensure fairness and consistency in play. When a delivery is nullified, it must be re-delivered, allowing the bowler the opportunity to correctly execute their delivery while complying with the established rules. This rule ensures that all players adhere to the same standards during the game, maintaining fairness and competitive balance.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy