During a Fours game, is it permissible for the skip to instruct their third while standing near the mat line?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

In the context of lawn bowls, the skip does have the flexibility to instruct their third while standing near the mat line. This is an important aspect of team dynamics during a game, as the skip often plays a crucial role in strategizing and guiding the actions of the team.

The rules generally allow for communication between teammates at the head, and there is no specific prohibition against the skip standing near the mat line when providing instructions. This can be particularly beneficial for the skip, as it allows them to assess the situation on the green more closely while conveying their strategy or advice to their third.

The other options present restrictions that are not aligned with the practical application of the rules. For instance, staying back behind the head at all times would limit the skip’s ability to engage actively with their team and assess the game conditions, which could hinder team performance. The notion that the skip can only instruct their third when the head is completed is overly restrictive since ongoing communication and strategy adjustment are vital components of gameplay. Similarly, requiring the skip to touch the mat while instructing isn't necessary and imposes an unnecessary limitation on movement during play.

Overall, the ability for the skip to instruct their third while standing near the mat line enhances tactical discussions and the team's overall effectiveness on

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy