During play, if player "A" asks the marker if they are holding the shot, is it correct for the marker to confirm the number of shots?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a player asks the marker if they are holding the shot, it is appropriate for the marker to confirm the number of shots. This is in accordance with the accepted procedures in bowls where accurate communication is essential to maintain the flow of the game and the integrity of play. Providing the player with this information helps clarify the situation on the green, especially if the player is uncertain about the current score.

This confirmation can assist in the decision-making process for the player as they evaluate their next shot strategies. Clear and concise communication from the marker, who acts as a neutral party, is crucial in enhancing understanding and ensuring that all players are on the same page regarding the game's state. This practice upholds the spirit of the game and promotes fair competition.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy