How can a team score 6 shots with the last bowl touching the jack?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

To score 6 shots with the last bowl touching the jack, it's essential to consider the circumstances under which shots can be counted. If the jack is outside the boundary of the playing area at the time when the last bowl makes contact with it, the shots may be counted. This scenario reflects a situation where the team inadvertently benefits due to the jack being played out of bounds, leading to an unconventional situation for scoring.

Moreover, it’s also critical to note that if the team was already lying 6 shots before the last bowl was played, they would still maintain those 6 shots counting towards their total score, regardless of the last bowl's interaction with the jack. In this case, they could still be credited with the shots counted based on the bowls already lying closest to the jack prior to the last shot.

Hence, the correct answer encompasses both scenarios in which a team can score 6 shots with the last bowl touching the jack: when the jack is outside the boundary and when the team is already lying 6 shots before the last bowl is delivered.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy