If a bowl contacts multiple bowls in the head before hitting a player's foot, what is the ruling on the disturbed head?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

The ruling when a bowl contacts multiple bowls in the head before hitting a player's foot is based on the principle of maintaining the integrity of the head as it existed prior to disturbance. When a bowl hits and moves some of the bowls in the head, only the part of the head that was disturbed as a direct result of that contact needs to be replaced. This means that any bowls that were shifted without direct influence from the contact are considered to have stayed in their original positions. Therefore, only the specific part of the head that was altered directly by the impacting bowl is to be restored to its original state.

The option indicating that all parts of the head disturbed must be replaced does not accurately reflect the rules, as it is only necessary to address those changes that resulted directly from the incident. The suggestion that feedback from both skips must determine whether to replace or leave the bowls is not in accordance with standard procedure, as the umpire has the responsibility to make decisions based on the observations of the event. Finally, the notion that nothing needs to be replaced and the game continues does not align with the rules governing the proper management of a disturbed head, as some restoration is indeed required.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy