If a bowl falls into a new position during the measuring process, what should be done?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

If a bowl falls into a new position during the measuring process, it should remain in that new position. This guideline is rooted in the principle that the integrity of the game is preserved by adhering to the most current state of play, meaning that once a bowl has moved, the new position accurately reflects the situation on the green.

In practical terms, allowing the bowl to remain in its new location ensures that players and officials are measuring based on the correct and final placements of the bowls. Continuing to measure from an original position that no longer represents the actual state of the game would be misleading and could lead to disputes about the outcome.

It's important to follow this protocol to maintain clear and fair gameplay, ensuring that all measuring accurately portrays the current positions of the bowls on the green, ultimately affecting how the score is determined and impacting subsequent play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy