If a bowl is determined dead after a player has disturbed the head, what is the next step for the opponent?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a bowl is deemed dead after a player has disturbed the head, the opponent's next step is to leave the head as it has been altered without taking further action. This approach is consistent with the principles guiding the game of bowls, which aims to maintain the integrity of play while respecting the actual state of the game at the moment the disturbance occurred.

The rationale behind this decision is that once the head has been modified due to the actions of a player, it is considered settled in its current state. Hence, there is no requirement or purpose in attempting to revert it back to its original state, as doing so could introduce ambiguity and potential disputes regarding the positioning of the bowls and the scoring.

In addition, measuring all shots without considering the disturbance would not accurately reflect the realities of the situation because the presence of disturbance was a result of player action. Declaring the end as void could also lead to unnecessary complications and disrupt the flow of the game, as it would negate all actions taken during that end. Therefore, recognizing the altered state and proceeding without further modification or nullification assists in aiming for a fair and orderly resolution.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy