If a bowl strikes a player's foot during its original course, what should the opposing skip do?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a bowl strikes a player's foot during its original course, the correct procedure is to declare the bowl dead and replace the head. This is because the integrity of the play is compromised when an object (in this case, a foot) interferes with the bowl’s path. According to the laws of the game, any incident that alters the natural course of the bowl requires that the situation be declared void, and the head (the arrangement of bowls at the end of the end) is to be reset to its previous formation.

This is important to maintain fairness in the game, as the bowl is not completing its intended path or fulfilling its role in play. Similar rules apply when a bowl is obstructed by any other objects or external factors; they are treated as if the bowl didn’t travel as intended.

In contrast, allowing the bowl to continue and marking the foot as touch would not align with the rules regarding interruption of play, as would dismissing the incident and continuing, which ignores the impact on the outcome. Requesting a measurement would be unnecessary since the bowl's original course has been disrupted, making a measurement irrelevant.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy