If a player delivers a touch bowl that enters the ditch and moves another bowl, what action is taken?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a player delivers a touch bowl that enters the ditch and moves another bowl, the correct action is to mark the position of the touching bowl. This is in accordance with the laws of bowls which state that a bowl that touches another bowl while entering the ditch can affect the position of the other bowl. Marking the position provides clarity on where the bowl originally was before any movement occurred.

This approach helps maintain the integrity of the game, ensuring that all players are aware of the correct positioning of the bowls after the incident. It’s a standard procedure to ensure fairness in the game, so that no advantage is gained or lost from the movement caused by the touch bowl.

In this context, the other options do not apply as they misinterpret the rules regarding the repositioning of bowls after such interactions. These incorrect options would lead to confusion and potentially alter the outcome of the game improperly. When players witness a touch bowl entering the ditch, marking the position of the touching bowl is the appropriate and regulated response.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy