If a player has the jack in the ditch moved by a toucher, how is it treated?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a player has the jack in the ditch moved by a toucher, the proper action is to adjust the position of the jack according to the rules. If the toucher, which is a bowl that has touched the jack and remains in play, moves the jack into the ditch, the jack's new position becomes valid, and it must be marked accordingly. This ensures that the game continues fairly, reflecting the current state of play.

The position of the jack is treated as valid because it is a result of legal play—the toucher has interacted with the jack within the rules of the game. The adjustment acknowledges this interaction and establishes the correct position for the next delivery. This helps maintain the integrity of the game and the roles of players on the green.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy