If a running bowl hits a toucher that then rebounds onto the green, is the toucher still considered a live bowl?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a running bowl hits a toucher and that toucher subsequently rebounds onto the green, the toucher is still considered a live bowl. In the rules of lawn bowls, a toucher is defined as a bowl that has touched the jack or a bowl that has been in contact with the jack at any point during its course. Once a bowl is designated as a toucher, it maintains that status unless it is identified as dead due to specific circumstances, such as being knocked out of play.

In this case, since the bowl has made contact and is back on the green, its status as a live bowl is preserved. This allows for strategic gameplay, as players can use touchers effectively in their strategies. The other options suggest that the toucher might become dead or that its status could depend on specific conditions, which does not align with the regulations governing touchers in bowling. Therefore, maintaining the classification of the toucher as live is essential for ensuring a clear understanding of the gameplay and its possible implications.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy