If a team’s bowl is delivered on the correct bias but collides with a bowl on another rink, what happens?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a team's bowl is delivered with the correct bias, it signifies that the bowler has adhered to the rules regarding how the bowl should travel along the rink. However, if that bowl collides with a bowl on another rink, this interaction is deemed a violation of the game's rules.

In this instance, the correct outcome is that the delivered bowl is disqualified. The rationale behind this is that once the bowl leaves the specific rink in play and interferes with another rink, it disrupts the integrity of the game. Each rink is treated independently, and any interference can affect the consistency and fairness of the play.

The other potential outcomes, such as having the collision having no impact or allowing the bowler to replay their bowl, fail to consider the seriousness of the rules governing the play on separate rinks. Reassessing the impact together would imply a collaborative decision, which does not align with the standard procedures in the sport regarding inter-rink collisions. Thus, disqualification is the appropriate action to maintain the rules and ensure fair play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy