If the jack comes to rest on the rink after touching an object outside the rink, what is this considered?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When the jack comes to rest on the rink after having touched an object outside the rink, this situation is classified as an improper delivery. In bowls, there are specific rules regarding how the jack must be delivered and what constitutes a valid play. A proper delivery requires the jack to have a clear and unobstructed path, and touching an external object interrupts this essential aspect.

This means that, once the jack touches an object outside the rink, it fails to meet these regulatory criteria for a valid delivery. The game relies on a fair and consistent playing field, and allowing the jack to be influenced by external factors would compromise the integrity of the match. As a result, it is considered that the delivery was not executed correctly, hence labeling it as improper.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy