If the jack is struck and contacts an opponent's foot, what options does the opposing skip have?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When the jack is struck and comes into contact with an opponent's foot, the opposing skip has specific options available to address this situation. The correct response is that the skip may either place the jack back in its original position or declare the end dead.

This action is grounded in the rules of bowls, which stipulate that if the jack is contacted illegally (like hitting an opponent's foot), the integrity of the end may be compromised. The skip's option to place the jack back recognizes the importance of maintaining fairness and the intent of the game. Declaring the end dead eliminates any confusion regarding the outcome of that particular end, allowing the players to restart under clear, defined choices.

The other options do not align with the rules governing the situation; for example, declaring the end void would suggest that the end has no valid outcome but does not necessarily allow for the replacement of the jack. Removing the jack from play would not be appropriate as the jack itself is still valid and just requires repositioning. Stopping the game immediately is also not a standard protocol, as there are procedural steps in place for addressing such incidents without halting play for all present.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy