In the event a bowl is stopped by an opponent's foot, what is the contingency for the skip?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a bowl is stopped by an opponent's foot, the rules allow the skip to make a decision regarding the future position of the bowl. This is grounded in the principle that play must be fair, and the impact on the game must be considered. The skip can choose whether to reposition the bowl, which may involve moving it to a location that reflects where it would have ended up had it not been obstructed. This facilitates continuity and fairness in the game, ensuring that interruptions caused by accidental actions, such as a foot coming into play, do not unduly disadvantage one side.

The other options do not reflect the typical procedures in these situations. Pausing the game for a decision could lead to unnecessary delays and disrupt the flow of play. Removing a bowl entirely would not account for the likely intended outcome had there been no interference. Lastly, requiring the opponent to immediately replace the bowl does not align with the established rules of play, as it places an undue burden on the opposing player and does not solve the issue of determining where the bowl should be. Thus, allowing the skip to address the future location of the bowl ensures that the game remains fair and competitive.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy