Is a player allowed to use a cloth on the green to indicate the position of the jack or a bowl?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

Using a cloth on the green to indicate the position of the jack or a bowl is permissible as long as it does not make contact with the jack or bowl itself. This practice helps players visualize the position of the target without interfering with the game. The rule allows for such a method because it provides a clear reference point that players can use during their play, enhancing their ability to judge distances and make tactical decisions.

The regulation permits this action as it does not disrupt the game’s integrity or create an unfair advantage, assuming the cloth remains above the level of the bowls and jack. It serves as a useful tool for players to gauge their next move without interfering with the equipment or the playing surface directly.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy