Is it permissible to reset the head after the two thirds have agreed on one shot?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

In the context of bowling and umpiring, once two thirds of the players or teams have agreed on the shot, the process is effectively in motion, and it signifies that a decision regarding the scoring has been made. This agreement establishes a significant moment in the game, indicating that the players cannot simply alter the state of play after this point. By stating that the bowl is forfeited, it reinforces the integrity of the scoring process and emphasizes that once a consensus has been reached, it is final unless there is a substantial reason to reassess, such as the movement of the jack which could warrant a re-evaluation of the situation.

This approach maintains fairness and clarity in the game, ensuring that once a decision is made, players understand they must adhere to it. The authority of the agreed shot number is thus essential in the sport's integrity, preventing disputes or confusion that could arise from trying to reset the head after the agreement. Understanding this principle is crucial for players and umpires alike, as it promotes a smooth and respectful conduct of the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy