Under what circumstances does a bowl lose its status as a toucher after touching the jack?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

A bowl maintains its status as a toucher after it touches the jack, provided certain conditions are met. Once a bowl touches the jack, it is designated as a toucher and should be marked accordingly. However, if the bowl is neither marked nor nominated before the next delivered bowl comes to rest, it loses its status as a toucher. This rule is in place to ensure clarity in the game and to keep track of which bowls have been validated as touchers.

Marking a bowl is crucial because it signifies its status and provides necessary information to all players regarding its eligibility for scoring. Once the next bowl is delivered and comes to rest without proper marking or nomination of the previous bowl, it cannot be considered a toucher, which could significantly affect the outcome in terms of scoring and play strategy.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy