What action should an umpire take if they notice a player’s bowl is touching their own jack?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

The appropriate action is to confirm that the bowl stays live. In lawn bowls, if a player's bowl is touching their own jack, it is still in play and considered a live bowl. This is because bowls can touch the jack without any rules being violated, and they continue to interact with the game as long as they remain within the boundaries of the playing area.

Other actions, such as counting it as a touch or declaring the bowl dead, misinterpret the rules governing the game. Recognizing that a bowl remains live when in contact with one's own jack is essential for maintaining the flow and integrity of the game. Additionally, removing the bowl immediately would disrupt the proper conduct of play, as no rule mandates such action in this scenario. Understanding the nuances of bowl interactions with the jack is crucial for an umpire's correct decision-making on the green.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy