What action should be taken if the lead of team "B" discovers the mat is incorrectly placed after the first bowl is delivered?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When the lead of team "B" discovers that the mat is incorrectly placed after the first bowl has been delivered, the appropriate action to take is to recognize that the situation cannot be challenged or rectified after play has commenced. Once the first bowl is bowled, the integrity of the game has been established, and the rules dictate that subsequent actions must proceed without altering the situation retroactively.

This principle upholds the structure and sequence of the game, emphasizing that the placement of the mat must be correct before any bowls are delivered. If a mistake is made regarding the mat's position, it is the responsibility of the players to ensure it is correctly placed before starting play. Therefore, having delivered a bowl indicates that the game has effectively begun, and any discrepancies, including the mat’s placement, must be accepted as part of the incident unfolding.

In contrast, moving the mat immediately or pausing the game would disrupt the flow and fairness of the competition, undermining established protocols. Replaying the first bowl also contradicts the regulations, as it would simply not be permissible after the game has commenced. Thus, acknowledging that no action can be taken is fundamental to maintaining the integrity of the match from that point forward.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy