What happens to a non-toucher that is knocked into the ditch but moves a toucher?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a non-toucher bowl is knocked into the ditch and in doing so moves a toucher bowl, the appropriate action is to return the toucher to its original position on the green. This is because the non-toucher does not affect the status of the toucher when it is moved. The laws of bowls dictate that the integrity and placement of a toucher must be preserved, allowing it to remain in the game as a legitimate target.

The opponent has the responsibility to place the toucher back in its previous spot, ensuring that the game proceeds fairly and according to the rules. This acknowledges the importance of maintaining the established positions of bowls on the green, particularly for those that are in play and considered valid touches.

Returning the non-toucher to its position does not change the fact that it is still a non-toucher, as it does not impact the rules regarding torrential play. Thus, the proper course of action is to focus on the status of the toucher that was moved and handle it accordingly.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy