What happens when a running bowl sends a toucher into the ditch and it contacts the jack?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a running bowl, designated as a toucher, enters the ditch and subsequently makes contact with the jack, the correct outcome is that the jack is allowed to remain in its new position. In this scenario, the toucher retains its status as a valid bowl even though it has ended up in the ditch. The critical point is that the interaction with the jack does not negate the validity of either object; rather, it solidifies the new position of the jack, which can influence the placement of subsequent bowls and the overall strategy of the game.

Under the rules of bowls, when a toucher lands in the ditch, it continues to be in play as long as it has legally contacted the jack. Therefore, the jack's undercutting modifies its location, but it does not warrant its removal. This reinforces the idea that both touchers and the jack play integral roles in the game, and their interactions are guided by specific rules to ensure continuity and fairness in play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy