What happens when a toucher that is marked is at risk of falling?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a toucher is marked and it is at risk of falling, it remains marked. This is important because a marked ball is one that has legally touched the jack or a bowl that has already been declared a toucher. Even if a marked bowl is in a precarious position, it retains its status as a toucher.

If it falls, the status of that bowl as a toucher does not change. It would still count in the context of the game as a toucher, which means it can still contribute to the scoring. The marked status provides advantages in terms of scoring and positioning for subsequent bowls. Understanding this rule is crucial for players and umpires alike, as it affects gameplay and strategy on the green.

Other options suggest actions that do not apply in this situation, as a marked bowl cannot simply be replaced, considered dead, or re-delivered unless specific and separate conditions dictate so.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy