What occurs when a player mistakenly plays an opponent's bowl and it touches the jack?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a player mistakenly plays an opponent's bowl and it touches the jack, the correct procedure is that the player's bowl is replaced and marked as a toucher. This rule is in place to maintain the integrity of the game, as the bowl that made contact with the jack is treated as a valid shot.

A bowl that becomes a toucher due to contacting the jack continues to be in play and may remain in the count, contributing to the scoring. The replacement of the mistakenly played bowl and its marking as a toucher prevents any disadvantage to the opposing player while ensuring that the proper protocols of play are adhered to.

This procedural management is essential for fair play in bowls, as it upholds the rules and allows the game to continue smoothly without confusion or disruption.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy