What should a player do if they accidentally deliver an opponent's bowl?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a player accidentally delivers an opponent's bowl, the correct procedure is to wait until the bowl comes to rest and then replace it with the correct bowl. This is in line with the rules of the game, which dictate that once a bowl has been delivered, the outcome and placement must be acknowledged before any corrective actions can take place. Allowing the bowl to come to rest ensures that the situation is clear and that there is no confusion regarding the game state.

Replacing the accidental delivery after it comes to rest is essential because it provides an opportunity to assess the impact of the delivered bowl, including where it lands and how it may affect the subsequent play. The act of replacing the bowl then must be executed with the proper bowl corresponding to the player who should have delivered it.

Options that suggest replacing the bowl before it comes to rest ignore the established protocol and could potentially lead to confusion about the game progression, while suggesting no action until an umpire intervenes fails to address the immediate responsibility of the player to rectify the error. Similarly, calling for a redo of the end due to confusion is not supported by the rules, as the focus should be on correcting the mistake rather than restarting the entire end.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy