What should be done if a bowl strikes the foot-rest of a wheelchair player's chair?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

In the context of wheelchair bowls, if a bowl strikes the foot-rest of a wheelchair player's chair, the chair is treated similarly to how a player's equipment is regarded. This means that the bowl is not considered out of play simply because it has made contact with the chair, as the chair is an integral part of the player's position and their ability to play the game.

Treating the chair like a player allows for continuity in play and acknowledges that the equipment is part of the game's framework while ensuring a fair outcome. It maintains the integrity of the game by ensuring that all interactions with the playing field are properly accounted for, rather than arbitrarily declaring a bowl out of play due to incidental contact with a player's chair.

This principle emphasizes the unique aspects of wheelchair bowls and ensures that players can engage fully with the sport without unnecessary interruptions.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy