What should be done with a bowl that, after stopping, falls and touches the jack?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a bowl comes to a stop and then subsequently rolls and touches the jack, it is classified as a "toucher," provided this event occurs within 30 seconds of the bowl coming to rest. A toucher has significant implications in the game; it remains in play and is regarded as a valid part of the end. This means it can be counted towards scoring even if it comes into contact with the jack after initially stopping, as long as the specified time frame is respected.

In contrast, a bowl that becomes dead typically does not affect play in the same manner as a toucher. Replay conditions or adjustments to the score, such as awarding points or classifying a bowl as a dead one, do not apply once a bowl has been declared a toucher by virtue of its interaction with the jack within the allowed time. Therefore, the correct identification of a bowl touching the jack as a toucher within 30 seconds is vital for accurate scoring and play continuation in the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy