What should happen if a toucher hits the bank and disturbs the head?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a toucher makes contact with the bank and subsequently disturbs the head, the appropriate course of action is to ignore the disturbance because the bowl remains a live bowl. In the game of bowls, a toucher that hits the bank continues to play its role as a valid bowl.

Since the bowl is still regarded as live, any disturbances it causes to the positioning of the other bowls does not warrant resetting or measuring the head immediately. The game can continue as the disturbed head is an inherent part of play following the impact of the toucher.

This understanding is crucial in umpiring, as it allows for the continuity of the game without unnecessary interruptions or measurements that might disrupt the flow of play. In this case, the correct action aligns with the principle that live bowls retain their status regardless of any subsequent interactions with the head or other bowls.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy