What should happen if Player "A"'s bowl strikes the target bowl and then hits the marker's foot?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a bowl strikes the target bowl and then hits the marker's foot, the appropriate action is to declare the end dead if there is no agreement on the outcome of the situation. This rule is in place because the integrity of the play could be compromised by accidental interference, making it impossible to determine the result of the end fairly. In this case, no team can claim an advantage, so it is essential to halt play until a proper resolution can be reached, which is why declaring the end dead is the course of action taken.

The other options relate to various scenarios that do not apply here. For example, a penalty shot is not warranted, as the interference was unintentional. Similarly, calling for a measurement immediately would not resolve the issue since the collision with the marker's foot introduces uncertainty regarding the positions of the bowls. Lastly, having Player "A" redo the bowl delivery does not address the effect of the unintended hit on the marker's foot, as it would not accurately reflect the situation that transpired. Thus, declaring the end dead under such circumstances is the most appropriate action.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy