What should happen to a non-toucher that rebounded and moved a bowl at rest?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

In this scenario, when a non-toucher rebounds and moves a bowl that is already at rest, the correct action is to remove the non-toucher as a dead bowl. This is based on the laws of the game, which provide that a bowl that has not touched the jack and instead moved another bowl must be considered dead.

The reasoning lies in the principles of bowls where a non-toucher, by definition, does not legally interact with the play area in a manner that contributes to the game. Therefore, any movement initiated by such a bowl does not have standing within the rules, leading to its removal from play.

Additionally, measuring or marking bowls that do not have standing would not be applicable, as the non-toucher bowl is already rendered dead the moment it impacts the play area without fulfilling the criteria of being a toucher. Thus, the situation emphasizes the importance of understanding the definitions and consequences surrounding bowl interactions during the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy