What should occur if the jack is moved by the wind and team "B" is now holding the shot?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When the jack is moved by the wind and team "B" is holding the shot, the correct course of action is to return the jack to its original position before it was moved. In the context of the game, the laws of bowls state that if the jack is displaced due to circumstances beyond a player's control, such as wind or other natural elements, it is necessary to restore it to its previous location to ensure fairness.

Returning the jack to its former position allows the game to proceed based on the original context in which the end was started, ensuring that the scoring is reflective of the play as it was intended. This action prevents any advantage or disadvantage resulting from an uncontrollable factor like the wind. By enforcing this rule, the game maintains its integrity and adheres to the established regulations governing play.

Other options may seem appealing at first glance, but they would not uphold the principles of fair play and order that are critical in a sport like bowls.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy