What should the skip of team "B" do if a bowl from team "A" hits a member of their own team during a game?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

The skip of team "B" should place the bowl where it should have rested and replace any disturbed part of the head because this action aligns with the regulations governing the situation. When a bowl from one team makes contact with a member of the opposing team and is deemed capable of determining the outcome of the end, it is the responsibility of the opposing team to correct the situation by restoring the head to its rightful state. This includes repositioning the struck bowl to its original resting spot according to the rules.

In this scenario, simply declaring the end dead without further action would not adequately address the disturbance created by the contact, nor would it restore fairness to the game. Allowing the game to continue without addressing the disruption would overlook the impact of the incident on the scoring and fairness of the competition. Additionally, accusing team "A" of breaking the rules is not a constructive response and does not rectify the situation at hand; it detracts from the emphasis on maintaining the integrity of the game. Thus, the proper course of action is to ensure the game resumes with an accurate representation of the play as it should be, reflecting the appropriate adjustments to the head.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy