When a toucher in the ditch is moved by another toucher entering the ditch, what should be done?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

When a toucher in the ditch is moved by another toucher entering the ditch, the correct procedure is to mark the new toucher and place a marker to indicate its position. This is important because both touchers are still considered in play, and the movement of one does not negate the status of the other. Obtaining a clear understanding of which touchers are in contention and where they are located can have a significant impact on the outcome of the end.

Marking the new toucher allows players and officials to accurately track the location of the bowls that are still active in the game, ensuring that the rules are followed properly and that the gameplay remains orderly.

The other options are less appropriate as they suggest either removing an active bowl from play or stopping the game, which would disrupt the flow of play unnecessarily and not align with the established rules governing touchers and their actions within the ditch. It’s crucial to maintain a balance between managing the game and respecting the actions of the bowls that remain in contention.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy