When can a bowl be declared a toucher in contact with the jack?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

A bowl is declared a toucher if it strikes the jack and remains in play. This is a fundamental rule in lawn bowls, emphasizing the importance of interaction between the bowl and the jack. When a bowl makes contact with the jack, it can potentially add points to the scoring depending on its position. The definition of a toucher is specifically linked to the contact made with the jack; therefore, if the bowl hits the jack and stays on the playing surface, it is considered in play and is designated as a toucher for the purposes of the game. This interaction can also influence subsequent shots and strategies, as touchers can be treated differently depending on their position in relation to the jack.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy