Which team plays first after a tied end is completed?

Prepare for the New Zealand Umpire Bowls Exam with our comprehensive test. Use flashcards and multiple choice questions, each with detailed hints and explanations. Pass with confidence!

After a tied end is completed in bowls, the correct procedure is for the team that won the previous scoring end to play first. This rule is in place to maintain fairness and consistency in the game, as it gives the team that has demonstrated their skill by scoring an advantage in the subsequent end.

In this context, it’s important to note that the team that won the last scoring end has proven their ability to outplay the opponent in that situation, thus they are given the privilege of being the first to deliver their bowls in the subsequent end. This arrangement helps to maintain a rhythm and competitive balance during the match, as it avoids any confusion about turns and keeps the game flowing smoothly.

The other options might seem logical, but they do not align with the specific regulations governing the game. For example, the team that lost the previous scoring end or the team with the least total shots doesn't offer any direct advantage based on prior performance, which is the basis for the established rules. Similarly, the team that plays in the opposite direction does not relate directly to the outcome of previous ends and does not follow the official guidelines for turn-taking after a tied end.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy